Decisions, Decisions, Decisions….


For those of you who do not already know that I work in the Insurance Industry, well I guess you do now.  I have tried for some time to avoid rambling about insurance topics, however, I knew it was inevitable.

 

Besides the overwhelming amount of work I must attend to daily, I am also faced with an immense amount of decision making.  Now, one might think that making all the decisions is grand.  On the other hand, years and years of decision making eventually puts you in this place where you no longer have the desire to make the repetitive decisions like, what you want for dinner or what do you want to listen to on the radio.  This place also helps you not second guess yourself on things such as, what should I wear today or what should I watch on TV tonight. 

 

This of course is a funny subject in our office at the moment, because there are those types of decisions where I do need to sit on them for a day or so.  Sometimes I do have to weigh my options.  In fact, Monday morning is a prime day for my assistant to remind me of how many decisions I have to make on her desk… let alone the thought of all the ones I have yet to make on my own desk.

 

So it didn’t come as much of a surprise when today for lunch we all agreed to order pizza.  And of course everyone was so concerned with what Ms. Decision Maker wanted as a topping for the pizza. 

 

I am at the point where I list the things I do not want rather than list the things I do want in these types of situations.  For example, I said I didn’t care for black olives, anchovies or sausage as pizza toppings.  This gave the others here in our office the gift of making the decision of what kind of pizza we were having.  

 

As silly as this sounds, it’s a truth about me.  I’d much rather have that person in my life who makes suggestions or decisions because I will more than likely agree or at least compromise.  And trust me I will not hold back in voicing my decisions when they do come up, as you know they will.

Tonight I have class, and I don’t know if I feel glad or relieved that I don’t have to make the decision of what’s for dinner tonight.  Although, tomorrow’s decisions and the day after’s are just around the corner. *Sigh*

4 thoughts on “Decisions, Decisions, Decisions….

  1. oh this is a topic very near and dear to me. I swear my family cannot make a decision to save their lives. Everything is up to me. Where we go, when we go, what we eat, when we eat. They just look at me with these blank stares until I tell them what is going on. Drives me freakin crazy. I cannot tell you how I wish “someone!” would take the reins once in awhile and make a simple decision.

  2. wonderlandhwy says:

    Well, I have been offering to take the two of us on a friday photo shoot and it hasn’t happened yet! I would be more than willing to make all the decisions for the trip.. you game??
    No blank stares.. honest! ;]

  3. clpakamom says:

    Well I just want to say that I love your blogs. It is so true about decisions in life.
    Something as simple as a dinner and we have trouble deciding what to make. I think its because we don’t know what we feel like eating. Either everything sounds good or nothing sounds good. I say keep it simple!!! Make it up!! Or the big ONE : SURPRISE ME!!!

Leave a Reply

