Infinity Days


At a very young age, my son understood the concept of “many”!  If we drove by a field of cattle or if he saw a bag of apples, he would always say… there sure are many cows or there are many apples in that bag.  Before long he learned how to count and began understanding the concept of days… He told me that he loved me a hundred days… and for a toddler, 100 days is too many!  It wasn’t before long that he would learn to count past a hundred.. a hundred wasn’t too many anymore, his love statement had to change.  And it changed into, “I love you too many days!”

In the meantime, Cyrus has always been a pleasant and loving child.  I recall the day just after he turned four years old and he brought up the subject of death.  He asked me why people have to die.  And then of course came the next question… Was he and his mom and his dad going to have to die too? At four years of age, I had to deliever my son with an answer that no one enjoys giving.  Of course baby, we all eventually die.  As I drove the car, I watched him through my rearview mirror.  I watched the contemplative look on his face turn into a flood of tears.  I explained to him that he did not have to worry about death until he was very old, or until he was as old as Yoda (of course I knew that he knew Yoda was 800 or 900 years old).  This seemed to settle him down and he wiped his little face.  He asked me how many days it would take to turn very old, so I did a quick figure and came up with 32,850 days.  This was 365 x 90, I was glad I didn’t have to explain how many days were in a year and I was also glad that I didn’t have to explain leap year!  32,850 days sure did sound like a lot to him so he was happy and satisfied with that answer.  When I asked him why he was so sad, he responded by saying that he just loved people too much.  I reasured him that he would have plenty of time to love.  Behind the scenes, my heart stung, but ultimately I was satisfied that I could be honest with him and that at fours years of age he could take the whole conversation in.  And it ended with him telling me that he just loved me too many days to count!

Little did I know that a few months later after the conversation had been digested, he would bring the subject up again!  And again, one day out of the blue, Cyrus decides to tell me that I wasn’t a 100% true and that some people do die young.  Then he said he knew why I said what I did and that he still loved me too many days to count.  When I asked him why he loved me so much, he said “because I am a lover”!

I think I have heard him say that he loves so much because he is a lover, close to a million times.  Every chance he gets, he is either hugging or kissing me.  His “I love you too many days to count” has transformed into “I love you infinity days!”

I often wonder what I did right in my life to deserve such a lover! So today while I was being  smothered by kisses and embraced in a hug by the “lover”, I asked him why he loved me so much?  He said, “Correction, why I love you infinity days? And it’s because you are so cute!”  Then he said, “Mom, I will love you for infinity and I am True!” 

Who knew, I am lucky afterall….

4 thoughts on “Infinity Days

  1. Jules says:

    Ran across your blog while looking for something else.
    Simply beautiful! From one mom to another – Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  2. clpakamom says:

    TEARS ARE IN MY EYES AS I READ OF MY GRANDSONS LOVE FOR HIS MOM. I ALSO SEE THAT SHINING LOVE EVERYDAY WHEN HE SEES ME . I GET MY HUG AND KISS AND LOVE EVERY SECOND OF THE JOY HE GIVES TO ME. GOD HAS BLESSED YOU ALINA WITH A SON WHO NOT ONLY GIVES LOVE BUT SHOWS HIS LOVE FROM THE HUGS AND KISSES HE GIVES YOU WITH MUCH INFINITY!! HOLD ON TO THAT FOR WHEN YOUR OLD IT MEANS MORE THAN YOU KNOW. YES HUGS AND KISSES ALINA CAN MEAN SO MUCH TO SOMEONE GETTING THEM. YOU SHOULD HUG ALITTLE MORE TO THE PEOPLE YOU LOVE BECAUSE ITS A WIN, WIN SITUATION ON BOTH THE GIVER AND THE RECEIVER. I TO LOVE YOU WITH SO MUCH INFINITY. LOVE MOM

Leave a Reply

