Friday I’m In Love


Calendula

My Love for Calendula introduces my new weekly Friday blog posts. 

I never realized how much I love the smell of Calendula until I caught myself recently stiffing Calamine lotion every night.  Turns out that the kind I use has Calendula oil in it.  I also purchased Bio-Oil recently and fell it love with as well.  Only to find that Calendula was one of the main ingredients.  Interesting enough, its scent is said to not be sweet at all and in fact resembles the smell of hops in Beer! (This kind of shows how I have been craving beer – and I didn’t even know why I had to get my Calendula sniff fix every night, until now. lol)

While you might look at the above picture and say, hey, I have seen that flower before.  More than likely you probably have.  Calendula, aka: a pot marigold is common and has many wonderful properties, which I have listed a few below:

Plant pharmacological studies have suggested that Calendula extracts have anti-viral, anti-genotoxic and anti-inflammatory properties.[1] Calendula in suspension or in tincture is used topically to treat acne, reducing inflammation, controlling bleeding and soothing irritated tissue.[2][3]

  So there you have it.  And if by chance you receive a Calendula in a pot as a gift, well, you will know who the contributor was! ;]

 

sources: 

  •  [1] Jimenez-Medina E, Garcia-Lora A, Paco L et al. (2006). A new extract of the plant Calendula officinalis produces a dual in vitro effect: cytotoxic anti-tumor activity and lymphocyte activation. BMC Cancer. 6:6.
  • [2] “Results of the clinical examination of an ointment with marigold (Calendula officinalis) extract in the treatment of venous leg ulcers”. Int J Tissue React. 27 (3): 101–6. 2005. PMID : 16372475. 
  • [3] “Phase III randomized trial of Calendula officinalis compared with trolamine for the prevention of acute dermatitis during irradiation for breast cancer”. J Clin Oncol.;():1447-53 22: 1447–53. 2004-04-15. PMID : 15084618. 
Leave a Reply

