The Shadows of War


The Pep is a very inquisitive child.  He never goes a day without asking a question.

Last year in November, he asked me “Mom, how many people can die from a bomb?”

That question allowed me to respond with a simple explanation, “Well that will depend on how big the bomb is.  Bombs are designed to destroy a specific area.  There are little bombs that will only destroy a house and then there are big bombs that can destroy an entire city.”

“Oh, are there bombs big enough to blow up the earth” asked the Pep.  “Yes”, I answered.

He then asked me one of those questions that catch you off guard; the kind of question that you are never really ready for.

“Mom, why is there World War?”  (He was speaking of WWII)

This is the kind of question that doesn’t have a simple explanation.  Sure you could explain the events that lead up to war.  But to begin to explain the understanding of why all the evils exist and the reasons that they manifest themselves is questionable.

It’s undefined; open-ended.

(It reminds me of undefined Indeterminate forms in mathematical analysis.)

But I’m digressing.

I began to answer this question by outlining concepts of things such as power hungry, greed, hate, beliefs, misunderstanding and differences.

I became choked up.  My baby had been exposed to the cruel aspects of mankind’s harsh realities.  This Mom was torn.  While I was glad that I was the one educating the Pep and pointing out the negatives of hostility, conflict and warfare, I was also sad that I couldn’t preserve my child in his bubble of innocence.

I pulled a book of mine off the shelf…. A History book.

Together we read about World War I and World War II.

We cried for the casualties of war.  We cried for those who gave their lives with honor.  Together we cried.

The questions ended with the Pep’s benevolent prayer.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Permanent Shadows of the Aftermath of nuclear war.

 

Ribbons, poppies, rosettes, wristbands, gun salutes, moments of silence, ringing of bells, obituaries, songs, prose, prayers, memorials….. scars… that never forget.

 

To remember the past is to commit oneself to the future… and to remember Hiroshima is to commit oneself to peace. – Pope John Paul II

 

Again Today, the Pep offers his benevolent prayer in honor of the men and women who have served so gallantly.

 

 

Please note: Top Image courtesy of Fracas.

3 thoughts on “The Shadows of War

  1. A beautiful post.

    Humans can be so terrible to each other and while it pains us as mothers, to have to explain these things to our children, you are right that it’s better they learn it from us, than those who would teach them to find glory in the committing of atrocities.

Leave a Reply

