Yahoo News: Visitors snap up 100 trillion Zimbabwe bank notes


Can you believe this was a top Yahoo News article on Monday?

And to recall, I just happened to receive one as a Mystery Item….

Below is a challenge by Waas, the physicist, and you know we all love challenges…

“If the pyramids in Egypt are 5,000 years old, there are 155 billion seconds in 5,000 years and 1,000 billion make a trillion. So how many years are there in 100 trillion seconds?” he said.Waas said he was still waiting for the correct answer from friends and fellow visitors in Zimbabwe.

 

Be sure to comment your answer if you so desire.  You can read the rest of the article Here

5 thoughts on “Yahoo News: Visitors snap up 100 trillion Zimbabwe bank notes

  1. This is just the sort of question my evil mathematics teacher would have set us for homework had he been in an especially evil mood (think Mugabe-type evil)……

    But back in those pre-calculator days he, being a stickler for accuracy…..would have made sure he had his question set out with rather fewer (none) anomalies than the no doubt otherwise very wise Mr Waas.

    I am so tempted to answer this in another place, my blog for instance, but let’s just start by pointing out that in the Waas article it states

    “the 100 trillion bill scarcely bought a cart of groceries”

    three sentences later he suggests

    “Back then in 2008, 700 million Zimbabwe dollars bought a loaf of bread.”

    Err….just how big was that grocery cart???

    Then we move on to the challenge.
    To my (anal) mind if Mr Waas is going to set a math based challenge, surely it should be….oh never mind!
    “155 billion seconds in 5,000 years”
    only if Mr Waas is using the long outdated definition of a Billion

    Maybe I ought to leave it there ‘cos I can see some of of you at the back dozing off.

    I was half asleep myself when I worked out that 5000 years equals 1.57768 Trillion seconds, so don’t take my word for it.
    And what about leap years…..and…..Hey! Where are you going?

  2. Somewhere I’ve got a million ‘somethings’ that my Dad had ……. sorry, can’t remember what the currency was ……. or where it is ……… actually, thinking about it, perhaps my brother had it …… if he wasn’t off on his yacht I could ask him ……

  3. The drool shorted out my keyboard… *Snap* A little pain of jealousy has set in…. oh well… better start my own calculation of how many years in a 100 trillion seconds…

    And speaking of seconds, I have something I want to share with you GitWiz…. just as soon as I compare my calculation to yours!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

