Summertime


The Pep and I were driving and we were talking about all the things Moms and Sons talk about after school.  How was your day?  Did you finish your lunch?  And all that jazz.  There was a moment of silence and then the Pep said, “Awww, you know Mom, I just can’t wait for the ‘Summertime’.  And even though there are so many things that are awesome about it, do you want to know what the best thing about Summertime is?  I never get sick during Summertime!”

He then sat back with the biggest grin on his face and I could see his eyes drifting off to a memory of water and sunshine.

I begin to think back to all of the summers I could that he experienced so far.  And to think of it, the only Summertime that I can recall that he was sick, was back in 2003, right before his 1st birthday (and right before his first MMR vaccination).  He had contracted the measles. Of course I remember ‘that’ summer.

But other than that, there aren’t any flu filled summers that I can or could recall. This made him happy indeed and raised ‘Summertime’ further up the totem pole.

So it didn’t come as much of a surprise when he posted this as his Facebook status, “only 16 weeks of school. won`t survive.” (yes, I just let him get a Facebook profile. And no he is not addicted to posting mindless ramblings. He is addicted to video games though.)

He not only knows the number of weeks he has left of school, but is counting them down!  The Pep is seriously a fish out of water.

All Hail ‘Summertime’!

3 thoughts on “Summertime

Leave a Reply

